Agustín Díaz Yanes (born in 1950 in Madrid) is a film director and screenwriter Spanish. It has been awarded for the Goya Awards.


Born in Madrid (Spain) in 1950. In the 1970s it is licensed in history from the University Complutense of Madrid and works as a literary critic. At this time you are interested in cinema and writes his first scripts were later adapted into a film.

His reputation as a writer and friendships which grew allowed him to shoot the film no one will speak of us when we have died in 1995, which won him his two Goya Awards by the script and direction. Following the success of his first film of prepared script Madrid Sur, a science fiction film that could not be made into a film by lack of funding.

In 2001 he joined Penélope Cruz and Victoria Abril, important Spanish actresses in his film no news from God who was nominated for eleven Goya Awards. In 2006 he began shooting the film Alatriste, based on the novel by Arturo Pérez-Reverte, which featured a spectacular cast headed by viggo mortensen. This film was also nominated for numerous awards Goya.

His last film to date is I just want to walk, released in November 2008, which has earned a new nomination to the Goya Award for Best Director. He is the President of Association literary authors of audiovisual media (soul).


* 1996 Goya in the X Edition of the Goya Awards for best new director and best original screenplay for no one will speak of us when we have died.


Year       Movie   Mode

2008       I just want to walk           Director and screenwriter

2006       Alatriste               Director and screenwriter

2001       No news from God         Director and screenwriter

1997       To the limit         Screenwriter

1995       No one will speak of us when we died   Director and screenwriter

1994       Belmonte            Screenwriter

1988       Baton Rouge      Screenwriter