Frederic Michael Raphael (Chicago, August 14 , 1931) is a screenwriter, novelist, and American journalist.

Son of Cedric Michael Raphael and Irene Rose Mauser, went with them to settle in Putney, England. He studied at the Copthorne Preparatory School, and at St John’s College, Cambridge. Raphael won an Academy Award of the Academy in 1965 best original screenplay by Darling: two years later he received a second nomination for two on the road. Also adapted for the screen of Thomas Hardy’s work Far From the Madding Crowd directed by John Schlesinger.

His articles have appeared in numerous periodicals and newspapers such as The Los Angeles Times and The Sunday Times. He has published more than 20 novels, the best known is The Glittering Prizes (1976), semiauttobiografica tells where the graduates of the University of Cambridge post-war lives. Its adaptació was brought to the TV in a series for BBC wing.

In 1999, Raphael publishes Eyes Wide Open, a memory of his collaboration with director Stanley Kubrick in the development of the screenplay for Eyes Wide Shut.


* Obbligato 1956

* The Earlsdon Way 1958

* The Limits of Love 1960

* A Wild Surmise 1961

* The Graduate Wife 1962

* The Trouble with England 1962

* Lindmann 1963

* Orchestra and Beginners 1967

* Like Men Betrayed 1970

* Who Were You With Last Night? 1971

* April, June and November 1972

* Richard’s Things 1973

* California Time 1975

* The Glittering Prizes 1976


* Somerset Maugham and his World 1976

* The Poems of Catullus (with Kenneth McLeish) 1976

* The List of Books: A library of over 3000 works (with Kenneth McLeish) Harmony Books, New York,

* Eyes Wide Open 1999


* Nothing but the Best 1964

* Darling 1965

* Far from the Madding Crowd 1967

* Two road (Two for the Road) 1968

* Daisy Miller 1974

* Eyes Wide Shut 1999