John N. Smith (born 31 July 1943 in Montreal, Quebec) is a film director and screenwriter Canadian.[ 1 ] He began his career making documentaries and short films of change to feature films to finally work mainly in television. His work has been nominated to the Academy Awards, Awards Genie and Gemini Awards, although he has only won the last. It is known for the tragedy of 1995 dangerous minds starring michelle pfeiffer and the TV movie The Boys of St. Vincent. From 1972 to the end of The Boys of St. Vincent in 1992, Smith was Director member of the national film board of canada.[ 2 ] He is married to Director cynthia Scott.

Selected filmography

* The Englishman’s Boy (TV miniseries, 2008)

* Prairie Giant: The Tommy Douglas Story (TV miniseries, 2006)

* Geraldine’s Fortune (2004)

* Random Passage (TV miniseries, 2002)

* A Cool, Dry Place (1998)

* Dangerous Minds (1995)

* Dieppe (TV miniseries, 1993)

* The Boys of St. Vincent 1992 (movie)

* Train of Dreams (1987)

* Revolution’s Orphans (short film, 1979)