Richard Russo (Johnstown, New York, July 15, 1949) is a novelist American.


Russo in Johnstown, New York) was born and raised in Gloversville. He earned an Bachelor of Arts (1967), an M.F.A. (1980) and a PhD (1979) of the University of Arizona. Then began teaching at the Department of English From the Southern Illinois University Carbondale. During her stay there, published Mohawk, her first novel.

His Empire Falls, novel published in 2001, won the Pulitzer Prize novel in 2002. Russo has written other six novels: Mohawk, The Risk Pool, Nobody’s Fool, Straight Man, Bridge of Sighs and That Old Cape Magic. He also wrote a collection of short stories entitled The whore’s Child.

Russo co-wrote the screenplay for the 1998 film Twilight along with director Robert Benton, who also directed and adapted the novel Russo Nobody’s Fool in the film of the same name in 1994. Russo also wrote the screenplay for the HBO miniseries Empire falls and the screenplays for films of 2005 the ice harvest and family secrets.

Currently, Russo lives in Camden, Maine), after retiring from his job at Colby College.


* That Old Cape Magic (2009)

* Bridge of Sighs (2007)

* The whore’s Child and Other Stories (2002)

* Empire Falls (2001)

* Straight Man (1997)

* Nobody’s Fool (1993)

* The Risk Pool (1988)

* Mohawk (1985)