Robert Oxton Bolt, OBE (I Salé, Cheshire, in August of 1924 – Petersfield, Hampshire, 21 February 1995) was a writer and screenwriter British winner of two Academy Awards.

His best-known work is A man for all seasons, about the conflict between Sir Thomas more and the King of England Henry VIII in the 16th century due to the divorce of Catherine of Aragon, her subsequent marriage to Anne Boleyn and reform religious Anglican. This work, winner of two Tony Awards, has been adapted into the film twice.

Youth and training

Son of a merchant of modest condition, attended manchester grammar school, to then work for an insurance Agency. After his service during World War II, he joined Manchester University, where he graduated in history, after passing a course at the University of Exeter. He was Professor in College public Millfield in Devon, Somerset to thirty-three years.

During this time he wrote a dozen radio dramas, whose success encouraged him to write his first play, flowering cherry, released in 1958 with Celia johnson and Ralph richardson as protagonists. After this work he devoted himself exclusively to the theatre and cinema.


In 1960, two of his works, The Tiger and the Horse and A Man for All Seasons were premiered in London. The latter work has been represented over 320 times.

The majority of his works deal with the conflict between individual consciousness, society and the authority. His protagonists are rebels to the majority opinion.

Other works are the last of the wine (1956), The Critic and the Heart (1957), both for the radio, gentle Jack (1963) the thwarting of baron bolligrew (1964), Vivat! Vivat Regina! (1971) and state of revolution (1977).


For its prolific theatrical work, Bolt is probably most remembered for his work as a screenwriter for film and television, especially for his work with director David Lean. He also directed a film, Lady caroline lamb, in 1972.

As screenwriter participated in:

* Lawrence of Arabia (screenplay with Michael Wilson) (1962).

* Doctor Zhivago (1965): Academy Award for best adapted screenplay.

* A Man for All Seasons (1966): Academy Award for best adapted screenplay.

* Ryan Daughter (1970).

* Lady Caroline Lamb (1972).

* The Bounty (1984).

* The Mission (1986) (originally published as a novel).

* A Man for All Seasons (1988).

* Without Warning: The James Brady Story (1991) (for television).

His scripts of Lawrence of Arabia and A Man for All Seasons they were criticized as too focused on the person of the protagonist and not in the overall context of the character, but both films were a success of audience.

Bolt won two Academy Awards and two BAFTA Awards and was nominated for many others.